Not Like Me by Eric Bryant

As I read this book, I am again convicted that I have a tendency to not get it right.

How many non-Christian friends do you have?  Reading this book, I have been convicted that although I work full time in a secular job, my introvert side is showing.  I have fewer non-Christian friends than I did when I was on staff at a church and going to seminary.  It is so easy to get wrapped up in the daily grind, and lose focus of what is important.

Thankfully, Eric’s new book Not Like Me was released just in time. People are important.  People are enthralling and amazing.  God has called us to make a difference.  Eric helps give us the courage to live out the life God has called us to.

We, (being human) have a lot of hang ups.  We tend to clump together with other people who share our world view.  It is threatening and scary to reach out and love people like Jesus does – especially when they come from completely different backgrounds.  Sometimes, we feel like we have no common ground.

20 years ago, inviting someone in America to follow Christ was to invite them to follow the societal norm.  Today, Christians are strange (or we should be).  How do you share Christ with someone who has no idea who God is?  Eric writes:

“The most effective apologetic is love.  This may seem simplistic or even naive in a pluralistic, universalistic, spiritually heightened, anti-Christian, and syncretstic world, but knowing all the ‘right’ answers is not nearly as effective as demonstrating a transformed life of genuine love, concern and care.”

Not Like Me is a remake of Peppermint Filled Pinatas, which I reviewed about a year and a half ago.  I wrote in that review that even my teens were enthralled with Eric, because he is real.  The way he lives his life, and the way he writes, is real and authentic.

This new book features a brief article after each chapter with practical ways to apply the principles presented in that chapter.  The contributors include: Ed Stetzer, Amena Brown, Margaret Feinberg, Kevin Harney, Dr. Gerardo Marti, Lon Wong, Mark DeYmaz, Princess Zulu, Dan Kimball, Erwin McManus and Me.

I am so delighted to be able to read this book again.  It is challenging me to again invite people into my life – to invest my time in people – because after all, people matter, and God loves them so much that he is willing to use a broken vessel like me to reach them.  We have always had a ministry oriented family, but we can do better.  I can hardly wait to see what God will do.

Here’s where you can learn more about Eric.

Here’s where you can buy Not Like Me.

4 Responses to “Not Like Me by Eric Bryant”

  1. Lou Barba Says:

    I read this and I think that something comes out of it that is too hard for me. I also reach out to a lot of people and my perspective is trying to bring out a belief, a feeling, a knowledge that is already there. If someone says they have no belief in God, then my job is to get them through to what they truly believe. If my kid said there is a monster under the bed, I would show them that there wasn’t. He knows in some fashion that he just made it up, but he needed someone to show him that it wasn’t true. It’s just to hard for me to put people who say they don’t believe on an equal footing with the truth as I am, because then I would subject myself to doubt, and would lose any effectiveness I do have.

    • kimmartinezstayingfocused Says:

      Hi Lou I understand the dilemma. If I hear you right, we want to love people who don’t know Jesus with the same passion as believers, but you have a concern that you will lose your effectiveness – or ‘otherness’.

      Some days, I really understand why Martin Luther and others have proclaimed that they have to pray 4 hours a day just to get anything done. Letting God work through us is so challenging, yet rewarding. I have noticed that God definitely gives me relationships to focus on. Kind of like when Jesus walked through a whole crowd of people, but somehow knew that Zacchaeus was the one He needed to reach out to that day. I don’t think we will ever be sorry for investing in the lives of others, and if we are honest in our relationship, even sharing our struggles – and really hooked into Jesus, then the Holy Spirit will do His work in their hearts.

  2. “Not Like Me” Giveaways! | Eric Bryant // Innovator, Speaker, Author, and Navigator at Mosaic in LA Says:

    […] Kim Martinez (a review from one of the contributors)  […]

  3. A Review by Kim Martinez | Not Like Me Says:

    […] This new book features a brief article after each chapter with practical ways to apply the principles presented in that chapter.  The contributors include: Ed Stetzer, Amena Brown, Margaret Feinberg, Kevin Harney, Dr. Gerardo Marti, Lon Wong, Mark DeYmaz, Princess Zulu, Dan Kimball, Erwin McManus and Me. […]

Leave a Reply

