Striving or Living?

Today I’m letting you into my thoughts – and they are a bit random.

I’ve noticed a dicotomy in myself lately – my “wanter” isn’t working so well.  I want to curl up with a book, watch a tv show, etc. AND I want to prepare a sermon, update our website (www.theclosenetfamily.com).

Since I work full time and commute, I don’t have enough hours to do everything.  I would never want to be striving for striving’s sake – I want to only do what is helpful to God’s purposes for my life.  Yet sometimes I just want to relax and do nothing.

This is what I am discovering – “work” is what takes energy away from me.  Sometimes that work can be as simple as reading a book.  Sometimes it is truly relaxing to sit, write, and think.  Striving seems to be connected with doing – am I “doing work” when I was called to sit?  Am I “doing relaxation” when I was called to work?  In both cases, I am being drained without being replenished.  However, if I listen to the Holy Spirit, who teaches, guides and corrects, I find that work is a joy and relaxation is replenishing.

This week, I am working through my ‘to do’ list – not as a striving thing, but with joy.  I love to see God get things done. 

Paul said “it is no longer I, but Christ that lives in me”.  I understand that.  Why fight the battle of self when we can let the Holy Spirit be in charge?  It makes life a lot easier to listen and learn and do under His guidance. 

Christ said – “I came that you might have life, and life to the full”.  Think about a plant that has life – is it flourishing or wilting?

So we come to this – are you wilting?  The Holy Spirit can guide you to replenishment.  What you need might be work, and it might be play – but it will definately be good.

3 Responses to “Striving or Living?”

  1. Doug Says:

    I think sometimes the hardest thing to realize is that the Holy Spirit can replenish us in and through the work we are doing now.

  2. donna Says:

    Kim,

    I’m always amazing with how much ‘God does through you’. May you feel an extra amount of His peace this week.

Leave a Reply

