Here Burns My Candle by Liz Curtis Higgs

My friends have been reading Liz Curtis Higgs for years.  When she wrote Bad Girls of the Bible, I almost took time out from my studies to check it out…almost.

So it happens that Ms. Higg’s 27th book, Here Burns My Candle is a first for me.  I wasn’t sure what to expect, and frankly was afraid I would be disappointed.  Quite the contrary.  I found a woman of intelligence and wit who can not only spin words, but entwine the emotions.  If you haven’t read Ms. Higgs before, let me give you a hint – she isn’t just a regular writer.

With an ability to look for the story that develops biblical characters, she then takes that and transforms it into a period piece (not necessarily in a biblical period) that is incredibly well researched.  Here Burns My Candle takes us to Scotland in the Fall of 1745, supposing what the developing relationship between Ruth and Naomi might have been like before and up to Ruth’s decision to follow Naomi and Naomi’s God.

Want to know more?  The publisher had prepared a Youtube video that gives you a glimpse into the book.  Click here to see the trailer.

Do I recommend this book?  Yes!  I couldn’t put this one down – it is thick (think heavy), but I still carried to work and back.  It was really a great read.

Want to buy the book?  You can purchase it from Waterbrook Multnomah, the publisher who was so kind as to provide a copy so I could review it.

One Response to “Here Burns My Candle by Liz Curtis Higgs”

  1. Liz Curtis Higgs Says:

    Kim, you have perfectly captured my purpose in writing HERE BURNS MY CANDLE: to explore the relationship between Naomi and Ruth that led to Ruth’s remarkable vow to her mother-in-law, “Whither thou goest, I will go…” The balance of this Scottish spin on Ruth’s story will unfold in MINE IS THE NIGHT next Spring, yet I’m grateful you were willing to haul about my doorstop of a book THIS season. Blessings always!

Leave a Reply

