Desperately in need of structure

pilonsToday I wrote an article about the free wifi spots in Seattle.

It got me to thinking about my own journey through these months of unemployment.

I am bad at adding structure to my own life.

In years past, I was careful to add the just-right-structure for each of my children.  I’m even pretty good at helping others create structure for themselves.

However, when I found myself without a daily to-do list, I discovered whole days that disappeared without accomplishment.   One of my biggest obstacles has been that I don’t have a list of ‘expectations’.  Some people are internally driven.  I always thought I was.  Apparently, I’m not…or at least I have to work at it.

How can you get help when you feel completely isolated?

I think Solomon was contemplating just this reality when he was writing Eccelsiastes 4.  Read verses 9-12:

9 Two are better than one,
because they have a good return for their work:

10 If one falls down,
his friend can help him up.
But pity the man who falls
and has no one to help him up!

11 Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm.
But how can one keep warm alone?

12 Though one may be overpowered,
two can defend themselves.
A cord of three strands is not quickly broken

I am so grateful to be in relationship with some fantastic people.

Finally, I admitted my incredible lack to one of my more accomplished friends.  I asked her if she would help me add some structure to my life.  She gave me a task.  It was a small task, but it was what I needed to be off and running.  God used her to open up my “structure” brain pathways for this new part of my life.  Now, I have daily and weekly goals.  I work until I meet them.  A cord of three indeed.

3 Responses to “Desperately in need of structure”

  1. Rosie Flathers Says:

    yes you are blessed and you are also a blessing to me. Thanks for sharing this today I needed to hear it.
    Rosie

  2. karla Says:

    Hi from your friend that is also unemployed and feeling convicted about how little structure is in my own life. I know what I need to do, but I have so many other things, good things, that are more fun and never getting around to the things I need to do, or do them too late for them to be effective. Thanks for the inspiration. I have someone who speaks into my life, but I don’t do what she says, I put it on the back burner and never get to it.I read in my bible study today about Jesus healing the man at the pool who had been invalid for 38 years. Jesus’ first question was, “do you want to get well?” first he had to get his mind straight before he could give him an action. Same with me, do I want to be employed? That means taking responsibility, taking action, exerting, sweating, and facing trials. It really is easier to be an invalid or unemployed.

  3. Jeanine Says:

    Interestingly, I’ve noticed some people recently who found themselves without structure, and am observing how they create a new structure for themselves. Some are yound moms, some retired, and some widowed (too young).

    One dear friend, who has been widowed twice (and was recently retired) said she knows she is no good at doing nothing. She recognizes her need for structure, and went out to get another job (or two). She knows herself well in that situation.

    Others make themselves daily routines, that give structure to their lives. One reads each morning after breakfast (her devotions?) and then goes out to do some routine errands.

    Others leave home @ 9am each morning, do all their appts and errands, returning home for lunch, with lots done.

    Others take classes, like swimming, a foreign language, or maybe Bible Study Fellowship, etc. –

    Those things give a rhythm to one’s day and week, and help them ve responsible – starting with themselves!

Leave a comment