Things of Interest

I have a few sites to share with you.  Things that have caught my eye for one reason or another:

  • From the publisher: You can become a part of the movement to reach the next generation.  Jesus…No Greater Love, the new Jesus movie, (http://www.newjesusmovie.com/) will be a word for word, verse by verse film adaption of the Gospel according to John. The gospel is the power of God unto salvation.    From me: They are looking for people to join their team and donate $10.  The Jesus Movie has been used as a successful ministry tool across the world.  According to UNESCO (the United Nations), the 26% of the adult population of the world is illiterate.  We also know that a large portion of the population learns best by both seeing and hearing.  The Jesus Movie has helped bring the Bible to these people.  The New Jesus Movie will help expand this reach.
  • Waterbrook Press’s Livestream I like this new feature that Waterbrook press added to their website – an opportunity to view authors in interviews.  I do think it is a bit clunky, and I’ve been contemplating whether they’d be more successful in just releasing YouTube videos, but the original of each broadcast is a live feed, much like MMI’s weekly The SHOW (which isn’t near as clunky).
  • One World Now is an after school program.  I’m still investigating this interesting program.  From what I can tell, it isn’t a ministry-based program.  However, that isn’t the focus of my interest.  My interest is the fact that someone saw a need – and went out and created a program to fix it.  From what I can tell, this is a dynamic program whose eventual goal is to build world unity by giving underprivileged kids the opportunity to study abroad. What intrigued me most about this program was that the morning before I discovered it, I watched a Muslim family cross in front of me on their way to school – three older boys and two little girls with their mom.  I wondered how different those girls’ lives will be growing up here in America vs. the life they would have led in the Middle East.  I was just pondering how our perceptions are changed by the cultures we interact with, and along comes this after-school program that is designed to do just that – broaden perspectives.  Now, if I could only get that creative.
Leave a Reply

