Deeply Rooted Part 3

Psalm 1:2 says:

But his delight is in the law of the LORD,
and on his law he meditates day and night.

Yesterday, we saw that the first part of being deeply rooted had to do with our actions.  Today, the language is primary having to do with our mind.

What do you delight in?

When the day is said and done, what is the first thing you look forward to doing?

I was watching “The Devil Wears Prada” the other night, and there was a telling line:  “the person whose calls you always take?  That’s the relationship you are in.”  Wow!  This hit me on so many levels.  First, how many times do I put my family on ignore?  Second, how many times do I put God on “ignore”?  Not because I want to ignore either of them, but because I’m sure they will all be there “later”.

I have found that in a world that rewards sacrifice, I have a tendency to sacrifice the things that are not sacrificable – my relationships with my family and my relationship with God.

“What do you delight in?”  May not be the right question today.  It may be “what do you make time for?”

Second, what do you think about day and night?  We measure everything against a matrix.  Our matrix is either a worldly standard of what ‘should be’, and emotional standard of what is ‘safe’, or God’s standard of ‘this is similar to x,y,z in the Bible, and this was God’s answer.’  We need to be bold enough to look outside the box for God’s answers in light of who He is.

So our second step to deep roots is:

  • Make time for God
  • Consider His approach throughout your day.
One Response to “Deeply Rooted Part 3”

  1. Jeanine Says:

    Excellent! So very true!

Leave a Reply

