Staying Course in the Emotional Storms of Life

In the middle of transition – no matter the cause –  you feel like you are in a boat, at sea, in a fog, with no instruments.

Suddenly, when other people talk, it feels like they are targeting you.

Days are endless, and the emotional pain can be so intense it is almost physical.

In the midst of this chaos, you need to maintain your primary relationships.  Yet these relationships are usually also affected by your crisis.  Their pain is also deep, and they are also floating at sea in a fog.  Their pain is also intense and hurting people hurt people.

Here are some tips:

1. If it’s everybody else, it probably is you.  We never want to believe it, but when even the guy at 7-11 seems to be again you, you need a break.  Everybody might not be against you this week – you might just be defensive.  Consider taking a mental break.

2.  Laugh often, laugh together.

3. Take care of the details – don’t let the details in life overwhelm you – just do them.

4.  Take time to just be with the ones you love.

5.  Let others know where you are at.  Prayer makes a different.  You need people who can lift you up.

6.  One day at a time.  Every valley has a beginning and an end.  This one does too.  Keep walking.

Here are some verses to hold onto:

Isaiah 43:1-3

1 But now, this is what the LORD says …
“Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
I have summoned you by name; you are mine.

2 When you pass through the waters,
I will be with you;
and when you pass through the rivers,
they will not sweep over you.
When you walk through the fire,
you will not be burned;
the flames will not set you ablaze.

Psalm 23:4

Even though I walk
through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me.

Psalm 27

2 Responses to “Staying Course in the Emotional Storms of Life”

  1. Jeanine Says:

    You’re right! So many times, while going thru intense trials/ stress, that’s exactly when those around you also fall apart – because in their own way, they are affected by many of the same stressors.

    The best, most effective “remedy” is to do like you have, and “crawl up” onto Abba’s lap, and read what he says to you. It’s sooo soothing to your soul!

    And, yes, it WILL get better! – Keep your chin up – literally! And go for those great, fast walks (after reading Abba’s letters)!

  2. Audrey Says:

    That was me last week – it was awful. I knew it was probably me, but i didn’t know how to change it. I wanted to be in the self-pity, wallowing mess I was in. I knew I was supposed to pray about, but I just couldnt bring myself to do it. It was not a pretty place that i was it. Thank God, that He did not leave me, when i was leaving Him.

Leave a Reply

