People aren’t Looking for Hope

Do you know what people think about?  I’ve been listening, and this is what I’ve heard this week:

They think about:

  • how to keep the silence away, so they turn the radio on.
  • how to keep their kids out of trouble.
  • how to make life just a bit nicer.
  • how to keep the emotional pain at bay.
  • how to be a responsible parent.
  • how to take the next step.

The closest thing I heard to hope in the last month was someone who is changing careers and hopes that the new career path will be a better suit.

Years ago, I was on a backpacking trip, and we hiked for a long time one day.  I have no idea how far we went, but I know that we went for about an hour straight up hill about two hours into the trip.  (Mind you, times might be relative) There comes a point where your body is crying so hard for relief that all you can do is put one foot in front of the other and keep moving.  I remember praying for one step downward just for a moment of relief.

When you are at the point of daily exhaustion, hope is a luxury.  Relief is a dream.  Existence is mandatory and must be tolerated.

When you want to share hope, you are sharing something that is a foreign language – something that is similar to trying to convince one of the women living in Tiajuana’s garage dumps that she needs to buy crystal and diamonds to make herself feel better.

Sharing hope doesn’t sound like Hope these days.  It sounds like someone else’s agenda.  It sounds like one more thing for the task list, one more hill to climb.  There really is no substitute for becoming part of someone’s world and being their friend.

How else can we explain that in God’s economy, adding one more thing to your life means making things less.

Matthew 11:29-30 (New International Version)

29Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

One Response to “People aren’t Looking for Hope”

  1. Rosie Flathers Says:

    nicely said,
    Psalm 23:4 (New Living Translation)
    4 Even when I walk
    through the darkest valley,[a]
    I will not be afraid,
    for you are close beside me.
    Your rod and your staff
    protect and comfort me.

    Things get pretty bleak, God does not promise our circumstances to be better just that He will be with us. As Christians we are Him to the people around us who are hanging on thru dark valleys.

Leave a Reply

