Inflight Emergency Procedures

plane leavingYou are in a plane, cruising at altitude.  Suddenly, something happens and the plane loses a 3×4 piece of siding right by your seat.  What happens?

Well, as previously established, science isn’t my strong suit.  However, in the movies, everything goes flying out the hole due to the pressure differential. 

There you are, flapping in the breeze.  Everything is flying around you.  Your carry-on with your checkbook, phone and laptop hook onto your foot, your kids are in the row in front of you – you can hear their shrieks. 

Your spouse is on this plane somewhere – they were last seen headed to the rest room.   How do you keep from flying out into space? What do you grab on to?  How do you save what is important?

In the movies, the hero or heroine holds onto something solid *before* the big blowout.  OR they claw their way to something solid and hold on for dear life afterward.

Does life ever feel this way to you?  Are you tempted to try to grab for control of all the areas, hoping to salvage something?  What would happen if you grabbed for the bag, or the kids right now, as you flap in the breeze?  Fly away Betty!

What are you holding onto?

Listen to what David said in Psalm 27:

4 One thing I ask of the LORD,
       this is what I seek:
       that I may dwell in the house of the LORD
       all the days of my life,
       to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD
       and to seek him in his temple.

 5 For in the day of trouble
       he will keep me safe in his dwelling;
       he will hide me in the shelter of his tabernacle
       and set me high upon a rock.

 6 Then my head will be exalted
       above the enemies who surround me;
       at his tabernacle will I sacrifice with shouts of joy;
       I will sing and make music to the LORD.

 7 Hear my voice when I call, O LORD;
       be merciful to me and answer me.

 8 My heart says of you, “Seek his face!”
       Your face, LORD, I will seek.

 14 Wait for the LORD;
       be strong and take heart
       and wait for the LORD.

God is your solid.  If you hold onto God, and ask Him to take care of everything else, you will find that He has it all under control. 

Put first things first, and the rest will fall in line.

2 Responses to “Inflight Emergency Procedures”

  1. Jeanine Says:

    Good analogy! Jill Briscoe also points out that stewardesses tell us in an evergency to 1st place the oxygen mask over our own face – before helping others. Otherwise we won’t be helpful for long! The analogy, is that we must 1st be in daily (hourly) “connection” to God, or we will not be able to help ourselves nor others.

  2. ROSEMARY Says:

    I, have been IN THE BIZ OF FLYING AS A STEWARDESS FOR OVER 25YEARS AND I HAVE ALWAYS MAKE GOD MY PILLAR.ESPECIALLY DURIN SO MANY OF THOSE VERY TUBULENT FLIGHTS.IAM NOW A CABIN CREW INSTRUCTOR AND A CUSTOMER SERVICE TRAINER.THANKS FOR THAT ANALOGY.ROSEMARY

Leave a Reply

