Friends and Community

turtles2Recently, I’ve come to really appreciate friends.  Now, the talk going around church about community has always confused me a bit.

I’ve never understood why I would be completely open with a total stranger.

I am, as it would seem, an introvert.  I also have a large family of loud, gregarious people who take the idea of accountability to an extreme.  So why, I often wonder, would I want to be accountable to a group of people I know far less?

Thus, the idea of community has always been one that I agree with in principle, but am suspicious of in practice.  (Collective gasp, considering my ‘job title’ until last year involved connections and oversight of small groups.)

But!  I am learning through experience.

You see, I’ve always had good friends.  Friends who will correct me when I’m are wrong – I need them.

Friends who will ‘do coffee’ and listen – a half hour is just not enough.  I can’t live without them.

I even have friends who just like me, and I’ve never really understood why.  I really appreciate these friends.

I have friends I don’t see often enough, but when we talk time melts away.

I have friends that I keep myself accountable to in various areas of my life – they are always a phone call away.

But recently, I’ve come to appreciate some quiet friends who fill in my cracks, look to be a support, are literally part of my community, and I never even had to ask.  They came alongside my life and waited for my ick to fall out, and then didn’t run the other direction – they just helped clean up the mess, and then we had tea.   What an amazing gift.

I am so grateful for all my friends and people that I walk with.  But most of all, I am grateful for the opportunity to walk with people in community – those who live far away and close by – but who love me in the midst of life.

3 Responses to “Friends and Community”

  1. Rosie Flathers Says:

    Very well said, the quiet consistently present companions, walking with and watching you thru each phase and circumstance are at the center of your community. They cry when you cry, laugh when you laugh, support you no matter what and never go away.

  2. Jeanine Says:

    Yes, “Forever Friends” are the BEST!

  3. Jeanine Says:

    Hi again, Kim 🙂 I just re-read your comments, and this time I was impressed at something else. You stated that you have always had friends. Then you went on to describe a lot of different types of friends you have. Are you aware how totally blessed you are? Do you know how many people “feel” they don’t even have 1 friend? Whether true or not, “feeling like you have no friends” is a terribly lonely thing! I’ve been there! However, when God hugs us, and then shows us the ones who actually are “there” for us, and who truly are friends, then we are doubly blessed!

Leave a Reply

