What to do When You Hit Your Limit

There are days, weeks, when you are under stress beyond the norm.

Today was one of those days.  I could feel the emotional exhaustion in the back of my head.  I knew I needed to talk.

I have a friend who has for years taken me out to coffee from time to time.  Today I called and asked for her time.  Then, the cognitive function deficiency caused by stress took over, and I forgot I’d called her.  About 45 minutes later, I was standing in my room, thinking “I really need to talk to someone” when I remembered that my friend was waiting for me just up the street.

When I got home, a prayer warrior called me, then a counselor.  By the end of the evening, my cup was full and I have something to offer again.

You see, I read the Bible every morning.  God and I have time together, and we have great conversations.  Today I needed something more.  He had people lined up to lift up my arms, to fill me up with His love, so that I can again walk with something to give.

Some days you discover stress at levels higher than you thought possible.  Here is the recipe for success:

  • A previous relationship with God
  • Intra Intelligence – the ability to assess yourself.  Know yourself so you can know when you need time away.
  • Friends – you need people to check up on you, and you need trusted people you can talk to.
  • A plan – you need a plan to decompress.  For me it is a book.  I bought a fiction book a week ago and have been working my way through it.
  • The basics: healthy food, sleep, vitamins, water.
  • Time – time to process and time to pray.

There are seasons in life that are difficult, but they are just seasons.  We grow, we learn, and with time, we heal.  Thankfully, the world keeps turning, God keeps loving us, and tomorrow is a new day.

2 Responses to “What to do When You Hit Your Limit”

  1. Ann Says:

    Thank goodness, God’s mercies are new every morning!!!

  2. Amy Says:

    Rest assured you are not walking alone through this dark valley. May God’s peace and presence be very real.

Leave a Reply

