Around the World… and Back Again

Taproot Theatre has put together a night of lighthearted fun!

Around the World in 80 Days actually has no balloon!  I always thought there was a hot air balloon involved.  Now I have to go read the story.  Instead, we have a story of fun and adventure – which could have been totally boring, but the actors stole the show!

Andrew Litzky played 18 parts in total!  He was so fun and inventive, that the audience actually cheered him on as he switched from character to character!

Ryan Childers was a stable force with really good physical ability.  Particularly in using his body to depict the various modes of transportation.

After seeing Nolan Palmer in Tuesdays with Morrie, I was excited to see him in another role, and he did not disappoint.  I think I would travel to another city to see Mr. Palmer act.  He is *that* good.

My favorite part of the play was the elephant, and you will have to go see the play to see what I mean…but I am still giggling.

I did notice two spots not up to Taproot’s recent levels of perfection.  Namely, Detective Fix (Bill Johns) rides a train much like a mule, and Ms. Scadron Branner had a bit of trouble maintaining her Indian accent for the first ‘stop’ or two after she assumed that character.  Just opening weekend stuff, I’m sure.

Alyson Scadron Branner, is very fun early on in the play, and overall is a perfect match for the company.

Bill Johns maintains his character of Detective Fix well, while switching to 8 other characters throughout the play. This takes an incredible amount of skill – I couldn’t even figure out how they did some of the wardrobe changes, let alone the mental gymnastics!

Like I said, a very fun play, that is still making me giggle 4 days later.  If you need a walk on the lighter side (and who among us doesn’t right now?) I strongly recommend that you take the time to spend and evening with Taproot Theatre.

Late breaking news:  A preview is now available on YouTube. Check out the fun and hear reviews from other viewers.

You can buy tickets and learn more about the company at their website: Taproot Theatre.

Leave a Reply

