Need Focus? Ask Questions.

This morning I cleaned my kitchen and bathroom.  I wanted accomplish great things and work toward my goals.  I was spritzing Clorox Cleanup and straightening out our life instead.

Leadership is like that.  Some days, more than 50% of life is making sure your foundation is in place.  A lot of leadership is also helping others firm up their foundations as well.

Last year, a leader walked into a meeting.  “I’m done.  I have too much on my plate.”

He was the leader of the neighborhood annual festival.  We had three months until the festival and our leader was trying to quit.

My job?  To help him get back on track. I asked him just a few questions.  Within minutes, (and actually much to my surprise), he not only was back in the game, he was reinvigorated and full of vision.  Before we left for the evening, the man who entered announcing his resignation was adding new things to his plate.

Whether you are overwhelmed or helping someone dig out from under, here are some questions to get you back in the game:

  • What do you know?  This question is designed to just listen for a couple minutes, letting them vent the overwhelm, then begin the focus with the following questions:
  • What needs to be done?
  • Who’s on your team?
  • What can you delegate?
  • What has to be done this week that only you can do?

Life gets crazy sometimes and we all need new focus.  Sometimes, just the soothing repetitive motion of housecleaning can do the job.  Other times you need a few more tools.  Hope this helps.

One Response to “Need Focus? Ask Questions.”

  1. Jeanine Says:

    I remember, and “Yes” your suggestions are very helpful!

Leave a Reply

