False Advertising

I received a mailing today that made me stop and think.

First, through the envelope window, you could see Lady Liberty, much like you see on the tax refund checks.  For someone waiting for their tax refund check, this was sure to elicit an open-the-envelope response.

Next, just next to my name and address, it said “Pre-Approval For:”  (me)

After throwing it in the recycle pile, my curiosity got the better of me.  I wondered who was using people’s desire for their tax refund check to get them to apply for more credit.

Much to my surprise, the letter was from Feed the Children, asking me for money! That was a surprise.

When I see problems, I always try to analyze myself and approach to ministry for similar problems.  This piece of mail raised the following questions for me:

  • Are we at fault for similar deceptions?
  • Do we ‘befriend’ people because we really care?
  • Are we on some sort of campaign, and if so, are we using deceptive tactics?
  • What happens if someone acts in a way that is contrary to our friendship?  Do we ‘drop them from our mailing list’?

Jesus said:  John 15:14 “You are my friends if you do what I command.”

John 15:17 “This is my command: Love each other.”

Well, that’s a lot of deep thought over a piece of recycling.  I have suddenly become very thankful for a few people in my life. I have a few phone calls to make to some real genuine friends.

One Response to “False Advertising”

  1. Jeanine Says:

    You are one of the special people in my life, Kim! You are WYSIWYG! – What you see is what you get! – Total authenticity! Go girl!

Leave a Reply

