The Treasure Principle

On Good Friday,image003 I’m bringing you a book that looks forward.

The whole point of this book isn’t the traditional ‘health and wealth’ gospel, as I suspected.

It is, instead, the principle of the saints – live simply because everything you have is God’s. You are His steward, use what He gives you for His purposes.

Alcorn adds a bit of a twist – you are sending your ‘treasure’ on ahead, into eternity.

This book starts off a bit prophetically.  Written in 2001, listen to part of the opening chapter:

“Jesus functions here as the foremost market timer.  He tells us to once and for all switch investment vehicles.  He instructs us to tranfer our funds from earth (which is volatile and ready to take a permanent dive) to heaven (which is totally dependable, insured by God Himself, and is coming soon to forever replace earth’s economy).  Christ’s financial forecast for earth is bleak – but He’s unreservedly bullish about investing in heaven, where every market indicator is eternally positive!”

Wow.  When I read that, I thought “how appropriate for today!”  Then realized how long ago the book was written.  Some books are timeless.  We all need this refresher course.  In case you haven’t decided to buy the book yet,

Here are the six principles in the book:

  • God owns everything.  I’m His money manager.
  • My heart always goes where I put God’s money.
  • Heaven, not earth, is my home.
  • I should live not for the dot (our present life on earth), but for the line (eternity).
  • Giving is the only antidote to materialism.
  • God prospers me not to raise my standard of living, but to raise my standard of giving.

Whether you think you have money or not, if you live in the US, you have money.  Marsha Peretti said this on Facebook this morning in an update after the recent quakes there:

Italian AG churches doing fantastic job providing food, clothing. Next phase, build prefab homes for believers and also for some non believers. Third phase,rebuild AG church. Yesterday at refugee camp, Pastor Roberto said, “I’ve never seen the people so open to talk to us about Jesus”. Help rebuild AG church. <http://coheu.org> project number AGWM 891167 (72) Dead 282, homeless. 17,000. Missing, 40.

That’s just in Italy – let alone the rest of the world.  Today we are blessed – to be a blessing.

I was convicted also in this book on how I use my time. He never mentions time, but that was how the book convicted me.  When I have abundance, do I hoard it or do I give it?

This quote is among Randy Alcorn’s Favorites on his Biography, and it is also one of my favorites:  “Only one life, it’ll soon be past, only what’s done for Christ will last.”  C. T. Studd

You can buy this book here:  at the Random House website.

Leave a Reply

