More Wisdom from Tots

So, working with 2 year olds has caused me to remember my early childhood mantras that I developed with my own children.

This week, I heard pop out of my mouth, without thinking “we need to change our wanter (pronounced “want-er”), don’t we.”  Wow.

I hadn’t thought about my “wanter” in a long time.  What happens when our wanter is out of control?  I know we get real unhappy.  Usually we also gain

  • unhealthy activities,
  • unhealthy attitudes,
  • and unhealthy appendages (pounds for example)

What do we do to unload ourselves of a wanter that has the upper hand?

2 Corinthians 10:5-6 is helpful in many circumstances, and this is one:

“We use our powerful God-tools for smashing warped philosophies, tearing down barriers erected against the truth of God, fitting every loose thought and emotion and impulse into the structure of life shaped by Christ. Our tools are ready at hand for clearing the ground of every obstruction and building lives of obedience into maturity.” (The Message)

In other words, it is back to the basics – know Christ, know his Word.

Leave a Reply

