Learning From Others’ Stories

i-do-again I picked up this book out of obligation, after all, some of the books I read are so that I can review them.

What I found was a book that was a delight.

First, about the actual book:  I Do Again is a book about the long journey back from a marriage that was once destroyed through infidelity.

I thought it was a book that wouldn’t pertain to me.  I found out it was a book about a journey. Here’s a sampling from some of the segments that really struck me:

“What I wrote next was a question that sounded like it was being whispered in my ear.

“What do you want the most, Cheryl?”

An easy one.  “I want to restore my family.”

“And what if that never happens?”

I stopped writing and fought the gut reaction of anger and frustration.  I thought carefully before writing.  “I want to follow your plan for me, whatever it is.”

The next thing I heard was mind boggling.  “And what if it’s not about the plan, Cheryl? What if it’s about something else?”

I didn’t know what that meant.  I threw myself back in my chair, and let go of my pen, wanting to give up.  “Well, what then?” I nearly yelled.  What is this about?”

How many times have I prayed “God, help me to be the woman you created me to be?”  “Help me to do what you want me to do?”  As I read this book, I discovered again the importance of seeking God’s face – not His gifts, not just His will, not the affect of His presence, but His face.

More and more frequently, when I went to God with a “what about me” plea, it was as if he handed me a camera lens to look through. The lens was one that could be adjusted to focus either on the foreground or the background, and I’d see the picture change right before my eyes.  When a situation that I’d seen as “all about me” shifted slightly, I’d suddenly see God in the picture, front and center…The focus needed to be on God, not me.

When we sin, there are repercussions.  Climbing out of any of life’s holes is difficult.  This book isn’t just about repairing a marriage, although if you need hope there, it is chalk full of it, it is about repairing a life and learning to live again, this time with God at the center.

The writers are both very transparent, sharing with us the ups and downs of their journey – wrestling with their own emotions and with God – sometimes giving up only later to return to the journey.  Also, this book would be excellent to give to a couple struggling with their relationship who don’t really know God.  The couple in the book discuss their journey back to faith as well as their journey back to each other, and how God stretched them and taught them along the way.

This is a book of hope.

You can buy this book at amazon.com.  As of tonight, it looks like it’s 20% off.

I have one copy to give away.  If you want it, be the first to email me and it’s yours.

3 Responses to “Learning From Others’ Stories”

  1. Jeanine Says:

    Your analogy of the camera lens focus is good. All too often the focus is on me/us. This is a good reminder that “It’s all about Him!”

  2. Ann Says:

    How true that there are repercussions from sins and that climbing out of life’s holes is difficult. How lucky we are that God forgives when we confess our sins and repent. He is with us when we climb out of the holes we have dug for ourselves. What an awesome Father we have.

  3. kimmartinezstayingfocused Says:

    Both of the quotes are from the book – and yes, the camera lens was a great analogy – I cut out some of the quote to make it fit here. She talked about changing the focus from her, to God.

Leave a Reply

