Budgeted Priorities

What is important to you?

We make time for what is important to us.  We also make room in our budgets for what we have as a priority.  Even when our budget and/or time is extremely limited.

Having dinner with my family is a priority for me.  For the last two years, we have not been able to pull it off – our dinner table didn’t work, everyone was on different diets, I worked late, I had a ton of excuses.

In the last two months, I’ve discovered how to have dinner as a family – regardless of who is eating wheat, who is eating meat, carbs, etc.   Here’s a quick fix:  Costco has three pork roasts for about $10-12.  They can be done in the oven or crock pot, set to be done when I get home.  Instant potatoes take about 2 minutes.  A can of vegetables, bread if anybody wants it, and a salad.  Cost for six people:  About $6.  Time for prep:  about 6 minutes plus cooking time.  Time for everyone to sit at the end of the day – – just what everyone said we were missing.  It has even helped improve relationships between the kids, and our parent/kid relationships.

This isn’t the only recipe, don’t worry – I have lots, but this is the one that recurs easily with lots of variations.

Now, take this same principle and apply it to time with God, time to study, time to… you get the idea.  I read most of a book the other day – while my family enjoyed the mall – and I even shopped with those who needed me.  I just made a choice to take the book and use extra time to read.

Think about it…we all have 24 hours, we all have obstacles – but some people do so much with their lives.  I’ve read this a lot lately:  Obstacles are opportunities.  Hmmm.

One Response to “Budgeted Priorities”

  1. Jeanine Says:

    I think your priority of having a family dinner is great! I’ve struggled with this over the years. (Thank the Lord for microwave!) Often it seems that the more important something is, the more difficult it is to get to doing it.

    God is good, even in unsettled times, He makes good things happen! – Even our top priorities!

Leave a Reply

