Standing in the Gap

These were my morning scriptures:

And I sought for anyone among them who would repair the wall and stand in the breach before me on behalf of the land, so that I would not destroy it; but I found no one. Ezekiel 22:30

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the One and Only, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth. John 1:1-2, 14

Christ Jesus humbled himself and became obedient to the point of death – even death on a cross. Philippians 2:8

God looked for someone to stand in the gap and found no one.  Jesus came and became the One who permanently stands in the gap so that we have instant access to the throne room of heaven – a relationship with the Maker of all creation.

Here is my question.  What difference is this making in your life today?  What difference will it make tomorrow?

3 Responses to “Standing in the Gap”

  1. kimmartinezstayingfocused Says:

    Well I asked myself these questions as well. The difference that it made for me was to make me pray today – not so much for me, but for others. It made me make sure I was taking care of my basic stuff so that I can be the person that God is calling me to be. And part of the day, I forgot about it – but the underlying question remained with me all day. A hunger for more.

  2. audrey Says:

    For me, on a daily basis, am trying to be Godly, trying to be better, do better, do what is right on a daily, hourly basis sometimes, be the perong that God created me to be. I recently started also being aware that I need to go to God first thing in the morning, thank Him and ask Him to help me again through the day, clear my head and my heart so that I may glorify Him.

  3. Jeanine Says:

    Sometimes ‘standing in the gap” sounds so heroic! Like the boy, who kept his thumb in the dike, Corrie Ten Boom protecting Jews during WWII, or Mother Teresa helping all those suffering in poverty. Given a great inspirational speaker or moving music as a back-drop, we can rise up and say, “I’ll go there, and help, too!”

    As we begin, we are filled with tons of energy, and eagerly throw ourselves into “the work”. As time passes, the work becomes routine and even tedious. Excitement leaves. Critizers taunt, and we feel like we’re just in a big fight! Standing in the gap doesn’t sound good any more.

    About then the Holy Spirit taps us on the shoulder, and reminds us WHO our source really is – Jesus! He calls us, and enables us – as long as we lean hard on him. The fact is, that if we appear to be strong, and can stand in the gap for long periods of time, that really we are drawing our strength from and being enabled by God, himself, the All-Powerful One! It’s in His strength that we can stand. It’s with His power that we work. We are only tools, conduits, and extensions of Him – with flesh on., As Christ-followers, we are to touch a needy world- people who need to know the All-Powerful One, for themselves!

Leave a Reply

