Archive for November 21st, 2008

My Mother’s Wish

November 21, 2008

blog-book You know The Polar Express? or The Velveteen Rabbit? Do you have stories that you look forward to reading over and over again?  Then you will love My Mother’s Wish.

When I first read this book, I couldn’t put it down.  In fact, I finished within two hours of its arrival in the mail.  At first, it appears to be a coming of age story.  Not of a boy, but of a girl.  A young girl who learns to live in herself, and her mother who learns to live in hers.  (Coming of age for girls is a lot more complicated than boys I think, because it has as much to do with our mothers as it has to do with ourselves.)

In fact, I thought it was so great that I took it to my 13 year old and suggested she read it.  However, the next day, I needed to reread portions.  Jerry Camery-Hoggatt is a master story teller.  This story isn’t just a coming of age story.  It has portions in it that are similar to the current popular book “The Shack” with representation of the Trinity.  It is a depiction of how God walks with us as we learn and grow, finding us when we run away, and helping restore us to a path of love.  However, in his masterful way, Camery-Hoggatt weaves the story so that you uncover the persons of the Trinity in reflection, not on first read.

Just like many delights, My Mother’s Wish deserves a place on the shelf of classics, to be read and cherished regularly.  I know I’m looking forward to reading it again and sharing it with my kids.

You can find it here:  at Amazon.com.

Happy Reading!