Faith

Today, I was going through the grocery line and I saw Oprah’s magazine has a question this month. “What do you know for sure?” I’ve been thinking about this all day.

My first response was “I know God is.” Then I thought about all the conversations I’ve had recently. Many are asking ‘Why do bad things happen, and keep happening, when people are following God?’ Some days we follow God only by faith, not by sight at all. Hebrews 11 talks about people who followed God when the only thing they ‘knew for sure’ was in their gut – Faith.

Imagine Moses, after the burning bush. God had told him that one of the ways that people would believe that he was sent by God was that when he threw down the rod he was carrying, it would turn into a serpent. When he picked it back up, it would become a staff again. This is all great when God is talking to you from a bush but when you are miles/weeks down the road, and his voice is a faint memory… I wonder how many times Moses threw that staff onto the ground between Horeb and Egypt just to help remind himself that God was real and had really sent him?

This is called holding onto God, or stirring up your faith.  What do you do to stir up your faith?  How do you dig deeper and really hold onto God when “what you know” in your head and “what you know” in your heart are warring against each other?

2 Responses to “Faith”

  1. Jeanine Says:

    I like your comment about how many times Moses may have thrown down the staff again – to remind himself that God was real, and really had spoken to him. I’m like that – except I now have the Bible to go back to.

    I read (and re-read) God’s words! Funny thing – as time passes, I often begin to see things in another light. My ‘tunnel vision’ or ‘way I think God will act’, usually changes. I begin to see more of what he’s up to, or at least that He IS up to something, even if I don’t know what! Sometimes that is very difficult. (I’m NOT a good ‘waiter’.) However, it’s also encouraging, since God is able to do “exceedingly, abundantly ABOVE all we can ask or even think”!

    Tip: A good visual ‘help’ is to get yourself a little wreath (even the 6″ kind), and attach a silk flower or ornament at each, tiny ray of hope or evidence of God’s working in your life. It may seem slow at first, but after a while, you will be amazed at all the ‘proofs’ of God’s faithfulness on your wreath!

  2. Jeanine Says:

    Here’s a great Bible ref. – Isa.42:16, msg:

    “I’ll take the hand of those who don’t know the way,
    who can’t see where they’re going.
    I’ll be a personal guide to them,
    directing them through unknown country.
    I’ll be right there to show them what roads to take,
    make sure they don’t fall into the ditch.
    These are the things I’ll be doing for them—
    sticking with them, not leaving them for a minute.”

    How cool is that?

Leave a Reply

