Right Perspective

If you listen to the news, you’d believe that we are on the verge of a world collapse.  Here is truth:

Isaiah 59:19 When the enemy comes in like a flood, the Spirit of the LORD will raise up a standard against him. God will fight for you!

Phil. 4: 4-13 (in the Message, parts are edited out, follow the link for the complete version)

Celebrate God all day, every day. I mean, revel in him! Make it as clear as you can to all you meet that you’re on their side, working with them and not against them. Help them see that the Master is about to arrive. He could show up any minute!

Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.

Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse.

I’ve learned by now to be quite content whatever my circumstances. I’m just as happy with little as with much, with much as with little. I’ve found the recipe for being happy whether full or hungry, hands full or hands empty. Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am.

Don’t be distracted by the stuff going on around you.  It really is a distraction.  God still is your provider – the provider of your purpose and your needs.  He has things for you to do today.  Jesus promised in John 14 that EVERYTHING you need to do what God has called you to do will be yours if you ask for it.  Put your eyes on the author and perfecter of you faith.  He will carry you through.

8 Responses to “Right Perspective”

  1. Jeanine Says:

    Good reminder!

  2. Barbara Says:

    Very well said and a good thing for me to read today and yesterday and tomorrow! As the news swirls around me sometimes all I can say is, “I love you, Lord”. Over and over.
    Then I remember that I love Him and He loves me.

  3. Karen St. Says:

    Kim,
    Enjoyed your encouraging words, from the “WORD”.
    Our prayers and love are with you each day.
    Jon and Karen

  4. kimmartinezstayingfocused Says:

    Barbara – that is sooo important, huh? We forget that He loves us too. He is actively working on our behalf. He knows where we are, what our future needs, and He will provide. He is very faithful – every day. Blessings!

    Jon and Karen – my prayers are with you as well. Much love!

  5. Ann Says:

    God is always with us, but how often I forget this fact. I need to remember He prepares the path i take and I need to listen to Him and follow that path. I need to clear my head of the world’s voices that are so unimportant and listen to His important voice. Thank you, Kim!!!

  6. Ann Says:

    Kim, My prayers are with you every day.

    Ann

  7. Tracy Says:

    Thanks! These words are perfectly timed. There are many distractions in my life at the moment. I need to keep the focus on Him!

  8. Barbara Says:

    I need to read this every day for a while. Morning and night! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

