In the Mighty Hand of God

To be in the hand of God is a safe and mighty place. To rest in the hand of God is another thing entirely.

When my children were little, they never napped. They didn’t sleep much either. They strove all day and all night to experience life, anything but be still. Being still was painful to them, it required too much work.

Sometimes God takes us to a new level where He wants us to learn to rely on Him more. He wants us to sit and learn from Him. The trick is to learn to be still. I was driving down the street the other day and saw a boy in a stroller that seemed to have this down pat. He was kicked back, holding his toe. Just enjoying life while his mom pushed the stroller. (Try to do anything holding your toe!) Then he yawned.

The Bible says “be still and know that I am God.” Did you know that you have to do the first before you can really do the second? As long as you are still ‘doing’, you can’t really experience God’s doing. Anyone for kicking back in the hand of God today?

5 Responses to “In the Mighty Hand of God”

  1. Jeanine Says:

    Great picture and application!

  2. Ann Says:

    I need to rest in the hand of God.

  3. kimmartinezstayingfocused Says:

    I think we all have to be reminded of this. Just a few hours after I wrote it, I re-read it and was just floored! I needed to hear it so much! I thought, “God, You are really amazing – to give me a word this morning that I would need this afternoon.” Then I thought how ridiculous it was that I could get something so clearly in the morning and not in the afternoon. I guess that’s why we’re the people and He’s God, huh?

  4. Barbara Says:

    Being STILL is HARD. “Waiting on the Lord” takes all my concentration!
    Thank you for reminding me.

  5. kimmartinezstayingfocused Says:

    Thanks Barbara – kind of like Peter walking on the water, keeping his eyes on Jesus, huh? Don’t worry – He is walking with you!!!

Leave a Reply

