Being Willing

There is a difference between being willing to serve God and being willing to be molded to God’s will.

Wheat grows up to become a beautiful stalk of wheat.  It becomes the best wheat it can be.  But then it has to be chopped, separated from the stalk, crushed so the seeds come out and it is sifted from the chaff.  This takes a tremendous amount of turmoil.  After this, the wheat is usually toasted, pressed some more, then separated from the kernel and turned into it’s end product, bread, cereal, etc.  (For  more on wheat’s process look here.)

Psalm 139:13 says For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.”

Jeremiah 1:5 says “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart.”  God knows our purpose.

God spoke these words to the Israelistes in the middle of their captivity:

“Build houses and settle down…seek the peace and prosperity of the city to which I have carried you because if it prospers, you too will prosper… Do not let the prophets and diviners among you deceive you. Do not listen to the dreams you encourage them to have. They are prophesying lies to you in my name… For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future…You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,” declares the LORD

Wheat could get really comfortable being the best stalk it could be and become unbendable.  Prophets could come along and tell it that the combine was not God’s will because destruction doesn’t come from God.  But then wheat would never fulfill it’s next purpose.

When we get so narrow focused on our perception of how life should be, we can decide that any thing that brings change is bad.  The Israelites had rebelled against God.  God needed to set them straight.  He also wanted to impact other nations. God, help my will to be moldable to You.

Leave a Reply

