Out of Focus

I spent all last evening watching the entire series of Journeyman.  I woke up this morning completely out of focus, with nothing to give.  Staying focused doesn’t mean I can’t turn off – but when I relax, I need to let God fill me up, not try to fill myself up.

This morning I was reading in 2 Chronicles 28:22-23.  King Ahaz was in trouble so  “he offered sacrifices to the gods of Damascus, who had defeated him; for he thought, “since the gods of the kings of Aram have helped them, I will sacrifice to them so they will help me.”

When I first read it, I did like many of us do – I applied it to others.

Now I’m convicted that I did the same when I checked out yesterday – I was ‘relaxing’ by the world’s rules instead of God’s.  Proof?  God’s rest is restorative.  God’s peace guards our hearts and our minds in Christ Jesus.

Usually when I check out, I come away refreshed.  Yesterday was different, and I think it was because I managed complete isolation and egocentric behavior.  Not good for me, not good for anybody.  Required repentence.

How do you see the ‘gods of the land’ creeping in and messing with our lives?

Leave a Reply

