Unanswered Prayer

Today I heard a country western song thanking God for unanswered prayer.  This brings up two thoughts:

How do you work out your theology in regular life – is your whole life Christian, or is Christ in your whole life?  I think there can be a difference, but am interested to see what other people think.

What do you think about unanswered prayer?

5 Responses to “Unanswered Prayer”

  1. Craig Mathison Says:

    I think about unanswered prayer like an unfinished sentence; it’s in process but something’s not there yet. Maybe it’s a time factor or something else.

    Unanswered prayer can make us start doubting. Unmananaged doubt can kill us but managed doubt is a great “growth engine” – we start asking questions that ultimately can (& should) make us throw ourselves right back on Jesus.

    And that’s pretty cool!

  2. kimmartinezstayingfocused Says:

    I’ve been thinking about so many times when people in scripture had unanswered prayer. My favorite one this week is Mary and Martha asking Jesus to heal Lazarus. Really, he didn’t show up – he didn’t heal their brother. He didn’t come until Lazarus had been dead for four days.

    They were caught in that time factor. It would be interesting to find out some of the ways that people manage doubt. You said something about asking questions?

  3. rosemarie Says:

    Every prayer is answered: God is like a good parent who cares for the needs of their children. Sometimes a parent gives the request because it is a need to be satisfied, or because it is within his power and pleasure to do so. Sometimes parents ignore the request because they can see it is not in the child’s best interests or because of potential bad consequences. Sometimes a parent says no because the request is self-serving or harmful or generally does not serve her goals for the child, etc.

    We are told God hears our prayers and that we should persist without blabbering formulas that are meaningless, like the pagans.

    On the other, is our life Christ or does our life include Christ, I’d like to think the former because anytime I pause, he is in and with me… but I find too often I am backtracking to say, “Oh, am I with you?” when I have run ahead or lagged behind. Requires self-examination without self-focus. What an ongong spiritual discipline!

  4. kimmartinezstayingfocused Says:

    You know, I’m wondering how to talk to unbelievers about unanswered prayer. I’m looking for real, biblical examples that make sense for them.

    I’ve even found many people trying to follow Christ who are being seriously challenged by the world events right now. The bible has some real examples of God not answering prayer by human terms, with right and wrong ways to handle it.

    I’ve also found other people who seem to think it is sinful to struggle with the in between like Craig was talking about. I sometimes wonder if they have made God in their own image, or if they really are faith giants – maybe some of both.

    As for the other question, you changed the question. But I like your interpretation.

  5. Hadassah Says:

    Personally, I’m glad some of my prayers haven’t been answered! Like one blogger said, quoting a popular Christian author, that if God answered all of our prayers, then we would basically run the world. God just wouldn’t be God, you know? So.. I never get offended or mad when it happens to me. I know He’s a loving Father and He knows what’s best for me.

    By the way, I wrote a post titled “Unanswered Prayer”. It’s just my thoughts on why God wouldn’t answer, but check it out if you’re interested.
    http://mylovelypilgrimage.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

