Out of the Huddle

Pastor Tony spoke this morning. The part that I took away was his analogy about football – nobody pays to watch the guys get in the huddle. It would be really boring to watch them huddle and then return to the bench – huddle, bench, huddle bench. But in our Christian lives, many people do just that – they ‘huddle’ at church, and then bench themselves the rest of the week – instead of getting into the field and taking the hits.

Aha! I thought. That is why my family is so different – some days, we are walking wounded – taking hits! I need to get better at helping my kids in the family huddle – coaching them through the plays. Praying for the kids they are walking with.

I read this blog today about Low Hanging Fruit. So many people want desperately for God to make sense. They are coming to church, but they are having trouble with the ‘connection’ M-F. They are what Seth calls the 10 mpg folks. If we could help them make that connection – to get off the bench and to get into the game – we would see our churches and their worlds change fast.

Where are you in the game?

2 Responses to “Out of the Huddle”

  1. Lynda Says:

    Where am I in the game?
    It occurred to me the other day that I often run into neighbors when outside puttering, or taking out the garbage on Sunday evening. I’ve had countless encounters where they walk over to me or I do to them. We have a pleasant interchange, often not too deep, but a legitimate connection. Sometimes there’s a profound moment of revealing a concern. Just recently one neighbor told me she’d had a miscarriage and I was able to share that I did also years ago. Another crossed the street to tell me (though not immediately) that she had a pre-cancerous throat condition. Other times are more about the weather, yet, these “meetings” are the beginning of relationships that can grow deeper if recognized as a “God encounter.” …An opportunity to listen, to encourage, to take a moment to give a person attention. I look at these spontaneous meetings that way. Can you think of times like this you do also?

  2. kimmartinezstayingfocused Says:

    Thanks Lynda! God is really using you in your neighborhood!

    We are having a blast having these interactions with people in our lives. One time not too long ago at one of my husband’s company things we were talking to a couple and the mom shared about two months of what they were going through with their kids, her sister’s kids – she really needed to share with someone who would understand. We were able to love on that family that day. Be Christ’s hands and ears.

    I was getting gas in Oregon last summer while on vacation and the girl pumping the gas just spilled about her abusive home situation, her concern about leaving her kids because she had to work… the list was long. Right there in the gas station, I asked her if I could pray for her, and I did. It was totally a God-moment. I was really floored. Most of the time I listen and offer to pray, but sometimes you can tell that God is doing a life change thing – that was one of those times.

Leave a Reply

