Exposed

What would you do if your faith was exposed, if the first thing people ever thought about you was ‘oh, that person’s a Christian’?

Tonight, I saw a man in a turban (probably Hindu) walk across the road in front of me. In our society right now, people are often defined first by their appearance. People define him by his turban. My Muslim friends. who wear head scarves, are easily noticed as Muslims by their dress.

This got me to thinking. How is my faith identified?

Ephesians 4:2 says “Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love.” That is our turban, our head scarf. The interesting thing is that you and I both know how completely impossible it is for us to be this on our own. But Acts 1:8 says the Holy Spirit will give us power to be His witnesses. John 16 says the Holy Spirit will guide us into all truth.

How has God taught you to love others – to put on the ‘dress’ of a Christian this week? For me, it was giving when I didn’t want to, forgiving when I felt hurt, and baking brownies in the middle of the night.

Leave a Reply

