Distraction

How many things plead for your time?  When I got to the end of the day today, I felt like I had accomplished a lot, but I still hadn’t managed to spend time in the Word like I’d started out the morning wanting to do.  Distraction.

Sunday, a wonderful saint reminded me that Paul said “this one thing I do.”  I looked it up tonight.  It’s from Philippians 3:10-14

This one thing was forgetting what is behind and straining – not thinking and planning for, but straining for…putting all his energies into what lies ahead.  Why? Because Jesus took hold of it for him.  Wow.  That’s focus.  Jesus was very deliberate in his life and death – and he laid hold of salvation for me.  I want to get it.  I want to really lay hold of all it means in every part of my life.  I want to get what Jesus saw that was worth dying for and lay hold of that – a relationship with God that can help me be single minded and focused in all my life.

What about you?  How do you sort through the distraction and find focus?

One Response to “Distraction”

  1. Unknown Says:

    For me, It’s simply realizing that unless I take the time….despite the fact that I have millions of things to do….to indulge in the word…in the time with my Lord – I’m going to get off track.
    I’ve noticed with myself that distractions – even if they have to do with the things put in my life by God – are excuses given to me to not constantly renew myself. When I keep taking those chances, I find, even if I’m doing things in his name still, I’m accidentally trying to do things on my own.
    My heart forgets he’s in control totally – even if my mind knows.
    I’d encourage you to find time every day – perhaps turn on the radio while making dinner – tuning everyone else out – or vent to him while in the shower….
    there’s always a way to let him walk with you in your every day that causes you to grow closer to him with every moment.

Leave a Reply

