Change and Power

This morning I took my oldest to school and saw a girl walking down the street in stretchies (remember stretchies, I was really wishing I could get away with those again – stirrup pants were my favorites for a long time).

On her back was a huge backpack for school. In one hand she held a coffee. In the other she was texting madly on her phone. I was surprised at my immediate emotional response. I heard myself think – “that can’t be good for her. These kids today are going to get arthritis or something from all that mad texting”…before the light could turn green I was reminded of my husband at a similar age playing clarinet. He used his thumb, on the same hand, I think – and just got a really strong thumb.

I think God was talking to me this morning. By the next turn in my journey, I was thinking, “maybe she’ll just have really strong thumbs.”

By the time I pulled back in the driveway I was thinking about Biblical parallels. Haman, in the story of Esther came to mind. He didn’t like… well anyone that got in his way of power. The Pharisees didn’t like Jesus because he was a threat to their power. When I have an automatic judgment on a girl I don’t even know, who is walking down the street – is it because I am feeling threatened? Let’s face it – I will never wear stirrup pants again in public, and I’m losing my ability to do 10 things at once without courting disaster.

2 Timothy 1:7 says that God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of self discipline (or a sound mind, depending on the translation). God gives us the power we need – it isn’t ours to take. And it isn’t ours to have slip away. His power looks different than the power we look to maintain. His power comes along with love and self discipline (or a sound mind). Sounds like peace to me.

What about you? What are some of the ways you are readjusting your focus to let God be the author and finisher of your faith this week so that your focus is on Him and not on stuff?

Leave a Reply

