Mentors are Good

So – I met with one of my mentors yesterday and got the richest fare. First, we had this incredible sushi – Blue C Sushi at University Village if you are in Seattle. Wonderful!!!

Then she tweaked my life.

“What is on your heart?”
“I don’t know.”
“Find out what you want to do and pray for it.”

Somehow I get so bound up in the emotion and function of life and she just brought me back to the basics – it’s about following Jesus – prayer, walking in obedience, repentence. All the leadership skills in the world won’t help if you aren’t doing the basics.

It’s not like I wasn’t, but it sort of is. I knew them, and was doing them, but was trying to do them plus…plus…plus.

God reminded me last night that Gideon needed to be stripped down to the basics – no extras. Then God did the work. If I want to see God move, I need to be focused on Him, and Him alone.

Prayer, walking in obedience, repentence.

One Response to “Mentors are Good”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Yeah, you’re on the hunt all right! Listen to your heart, put one foot in front of the other as the torch of scripture lights your path, and let’s see what God will do. Praying for you as discussed. Sorry I had to run!
    http://www.xanga.com/rosemee1

Leave a Reply

