Gardening

As I garden this weekend – actually I’m trying to turn my weed patch into a lawn – I am reminded of all the weeds in life, and the importance of regular maintenance.

Without daily watering from the Word, I soon become wilted and brittle.

Without regular times with God, listening, the weeds in my life grow unchecked.

Without regular discipline with my time and appetites, I grow unchecked, no longer a beautiful masterpiece, but an overgrown mess.

Have you ever visited someone’s house who has surrounded themselves with sparse beauty? You relax when you walk in, you feel like you are in a castle.

Yet, have you ever visited someone’s house who has surrounded themselves with every thing that struck their fancy? It is a mess, overgrown and overwhelming.

So my prayer today is this: Where are the weeds? Lord, help me to let You root them out. Where am I overgrown? Lord, give me the courage to release habits and appetites that have created clutter in my life. And today, water my life with Your Word, and the love from other Christians. Help me and my life to be a joy to others and a representation of Your grace in every way. Amen

Leave a Reply

