Be Still

Psalms 46:10 says “Be still and know that I am God”

For years I have taken this verse to mean – stop in the middle of worship and feel God’s presence. Know that He is God, the one whom you are worshipping. But today, as I contemplate what God has been teaching me lately, I think that is very short sighted.

The rest of the verse reads: “I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

Here are a couple other verses on being still:

Psalms 37:7 “Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him; do not fret when men succeed in their ways, when they carry out wicked schemes.”

Zechariah 2:13 “Be still before the Lord, all mankind, because he has roused himself from his holy dwelling.”

I propose that being still can actually mean ‘letting go’.

Letting go of fussing: Have you ever played the ‘if only game’? If only I could get him/her to do this…if only I hadn’t done that. If only I could make my child do what I need them to do. You get the picture. Spending my energy fussing over what is wrong in life is not being still and knowing in the bottom of my heart that God really is God, and He really can calm ALL the waves in my life. He works for good in ALL things.

Letting go of fretting: You know the picture – Your child is home late, the bills are bigger than the income, maybe you’ve reached mid-life and don’t feel that you’ve ‘accomplished’ all you could have. Fretting over life takes a lot of energy, and it (in a subtle way) suggests that somehow I have the power to change things, that my ‘work’ of worry is going to make a difference in the outcome. Truthfully, being still and know that God is God, that He loves our children/spouse more than we do, that He is our provider, that our purpose comes from Him – that is what changes things. When we let go of fretting and release those things to God, we get out of the way so we can see His powerful work come about.

Letting go of figuring: I am a great figurer-outer (not a word, but it works.) If I have a problem, I can find six books that address that problem from different angles, and figure out the answer. This is kind of like fretting, only instead of worrying, we are all about figuring things out and fixing them ourselves. No matter how much I figure things out, I still have a finite perspective on things. If I can instead (not after, but instead), be still and know that God is God, I can wait to see how He wants to fix things. After all, His perspective is infinite, and His results are beyond my imagination.

Hezekiah in 2 Chronicles 32 and Jehoshaphat in 2 Chronicles 20 both faced great big scary situations. But God delivered them. Again and again throughout the Bible, people who came to the end of themselves and relied on God found that He is faithful to meet them at their need.

Today, let’s ‘be still and know that He is God – for He will be exalted not just in the little things, but in the big things as well.

One Response to “Be Still”

  1. fireball3316 Says:

    great post. i love jehosaphat and i love God and his ways. being still seems so the not thing to do – it seems to be going nowhere, but really it is going to God and trusting him with our lives and the outcome of all. i like how you put it into 3 letting go parts – i so do all three of them lol! what a challenge for us to be still and let God be God! blessings, fireball

Leave a Reply

