Sabbath

What is it that makes a Sabbath? I highly recommend Lynne Baab’s book – “Sabbath Keeping”.

Long before I read her book I was “Sabbathing” by taking time away from whatever was draining me. So, while I was in school, I would stop studying from 4pm Saturday to 4pm Sunday – no input whatsoever except Sunday morning’s sermon. The only viewing I did was for pleasure. God blessed me so many times because I took that time away. One Sunday I was still not rested when I got home from church Sunday night, and felt that I needed more Sabbath rest from studying, but I had a huge paper due that week. I chose to rest – and somehow got a huge paper done in just one night – a real miracle. I had never written that fast, and I got an “A”.

The point for me is to walk away and let God be God. If everything falls apart while I am resting, then I apparently wasn’t letting God into the process in the first place.

What do you do for Sabbath?

3 Responses to “Sabbath”

  1. Gabriela Says:

    Excuse me, do you call Sunday Sabbath??????? Is it possible for a person to be so wrong about the Sabbath’s day? I don’t have anything to say about those who keep Sunday as the Holy Day (they choose this way but even they admit that Sunday is not the Sabbath’s Day but the 1st day of the week when Mother Mary and Mary Magdalena went to Jesus’s thumb, and in the same day he went up in the sky, so that’s why they keep it Holy, but they don’t call Sunday as Sabbath) but to say that Sunday is the Sabbath is very wrong. I’m very curious what church told you this? Where did you learn this or who thought you this? I don’t want to upset you but if you believe in God, it’s your duty to search the truth, to read the Bible as it is and not believe in mankind laws.

  2. kimmartinezstayingfocused Says:

    Thank you Gabriela for your comment. You obviously have strong feelings about the Sabbath, so I honor that for you. For others who are still working through the issue, I would direct them to Sabbath Keeping written by a good friend of mine. It is one of the best books on Sabbath I have read.

    With Blessings, Kim

  3. kimmartinezstayingfocused Says:

    Gabriela – Sabbath is a time of rest – it isn’t a set day, it is an attitude of the soul. There have been times in my life when my Sabbath was on Friday, times when it as been Saturday, and a few times when it has been mid-week. The important thing, is to set aside the time to spend time letting God be God and ceasing to work as a demonstration of my faith in that.

    When I went back and read my post on this, I realized my comment (almost a year later) didn’t add anything to the conversation, so I thought I’d explain a bit. Lynne lived in Israel for a while and her book does an excellent job of explaining Sabbath out of that context. It will do a better job of explaining that I can.

    From your comment, you have some deep seated beliefs that I wouldn’t want to trample on. I pray God’s blessings and joy on your day.

Leave a Reply

