Sunshine and Joy

I’ve noticed a few things recently.

First, when the sun comes out, it brings joy. I get so excited to live when I can enjoy the sunshine.

Second, when the sun comes out, it brings work. First, I begin to realize that my body is decidedly in winter mode. I need to lose inches – so I need to work more at the gym. I need a tan. My yard needs to be fixed, and all the weeds of winter need to be eradicated. My house even looks dustier than usual!

The same is true when God’s light shines into my life. He brings great joy, but I also begin to notice all the weeds. If I pay no attention to them, I don’t have to do the work to get rid of them; but then they will eventually choke out all the joy of His presence.

“To whom much is given, much is required” Luke 12:48. In this passage, Jesus is talking about being ready for the Master’s return. Being a useful and prudent servant. What weeds do we have in our lives today that God has asked us to get rid of? What would it take to get our body and mind ready to really enjoy the joy of the Sonshine? God has great things for us to do every day. When we sense His Spirit in our lives, we get excited – we want to enjoy the sunshine. Let’s shed those things that so easily bog us down and turn our focus away from Him.

Lord, we are so very human. Please help us to put aside those things in our lives that are not pleasing to you. Give each one of us personal discipline to take care of the weeds in our lives that You bring to our attention. We aren’t able to get rid of the weeds on our own, so give us the power of Your Holy Spirit. We want to walk in Your joy, unhindered by our frailties. Move mightily in each of us that we might be used as Your hand extended to the people we meet today. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

