Winning in Life – 2/22/2005

Where’s your Source?

Hosea 8:7 “Look at them! Planting wind-seeds, they’ll harvest tornadoes”(the Message)

Ephraim, as well as Israel and Judah, had become complacent. They had a form of godliness, but it looked more like the “worship” of the people around them than the worship God had set up. They still went to temple, but their focus wasn’t God, it was their own appetites. They even made idols to “help” in their worship.

How easy it is to slip into a form of godliness. When I pray, am I talking to my Creator, bowing my head to his sovereignty and again submitting my life to Him? Or am I giving Him my list, completing a ritual, hoping that things will get better?

When I go to church, am I appeasing my conscience for another week, or am I seeking to know the King of Kings? When I read the bible, am I listening for my Master’s whisper, or am I attaining a goal? Am I planting wind-seeds, or am I planting seeds of humility in the ground of God’s sovereignty?

Pray: Lord, I spend time with You because I love You. Please be my Source today. Help me to turn to you not just to make myself feel better, because that will teach me to get my strength from appeasement. Instead, help me to turn to You because You are my reason for living. Give me the strength and abilities that I’ll need today. Work through me and in me. Help me to be more like You. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

