Living What We Believe

Today I was as Starbucks and this nice looking young lady in front of me turned around and kind of growled at me. She looked at my sweatshirt and told me I needed to ‘get with it’ and wear Seahawks clothes instead of Mariners clothes.

I mumbled something like “this is my comfy sweatshirt.”

Then we got up to the counter, and she was there to complain because her drink wasn’t right. “I didn’t buy it here, but you were closer,” she said. “I don’t want to be ‘one of those people'” she kept repeating.

Already stinging from being accosted, I wondered what sort of woman she thought she was, and even considered telling the woman at the counter that she was ‘that kind of person’ enough to be mean to me. Thankfully, I kept my mouth shut.

While waiting for our drinks, she made lots of comments about the soy drinks that people were ordering – not bad comments, but comments. Instead of being defensive, I decided to open up to her. (I take soy in my drink.) I finally told her that if she could tolerate milk, she wouldn’t have to worry about soy; and for some older women, it takes the place of estrogen.

All of a sudden this young woman – turns out she is 29 with 11 and 7 year old daughters – tells me that today she is going in for her pre-op to have a full hysterectomy. I could just see how the situation was overwhelming her.

What if I had taken the opportunity to be cranky back? I would have gone on with my day and missed an opportunity to pray for this girl named Tomi, who is obviously at a scary place in life. Will you pray for her today – and take time to listen to the person behind the next frustrating situation you run into as well?

5 Responses to “Living What We Believe”

  1. Tammie E. Says:

    Wow, Kim! That’s powerful. I would have just been tempted to slap the B(*&^…but, well, it sounds like you made a better choice…thanks for the reminder!

  2. Jeanine Says:

    Tammie’s right – You made the better choice, and now Tomi’s gettting people praying for her, too! Besides, I love “comfy” favorites!!!

  3. kimmartinezstayingfocused Says:

    I think the point isn’t so much what I did, but that hurting people hurt people, and if we react to the hurt, we miss the opportunity to minister to them.

  4. audrey Says:

    you know i am always telling my kids that if other kids are mean to them at school to still try and be nice to them because we dont know what they are going through at home or away from school and that something is probably making them behave angrily or mean – so your sotry today made me think about what i tell my kids when dealing with other people

  5. Hurting People Hurt People « Says:

    [...] « Living What We Believe [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

