Archive for June 11th, 2008

Distraction

June 11, 2008

How many things plead for your time?  When I got to the end of the day today, I felt like I had accomplished a lot, but I still hadn’t managed to spend time in the Word like I’d started out the morning wanting to do.  Distraction.

Sunday, a wonderful saint reminded me that Paul said “this one thing I do.”  I looked it up tonight.  It’s from Philippians 3:10-14

This one thing was forgetting what is behind and straining – not thinking and planning for, but straining for…putting all his energies into what lies ahead.  Why? Because Jesus took hold of it for him.  Wow.  That’s focus.  Jesus was very deliberate in his life and death – and he laid hold of salvation for me.  I want to get it.  I want to really lay hold of all it means in every part of my life.  I want to get what Jesus saw that was worth dying for and lay hold of that – a relationship with God that can help me be single minded and focused in all my life.

What about you?  How do you sort through the distraction and find focus?


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.