Archive for June 2nd, 2008

Greater Things

June 2, 2008

Does anything that Jesus said ever bug you?

This bugs me: “I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Son may bring glory to the Father. You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.” (John 14:12-14)

You know why it bugs me? Because I’m not living up to it. Jesus healed the sick. He raised the dead. He taught with authority. He knew when to be gentle and when to come out with the holy zeal. Jesus sparred with the woman at the well and won her over, he knew exactly the person in the crowd to pick out when he went up to Zaccheus, he knew when to stretch the apostles faith, and when to build them up. And he walked the road to the cross with love and grace.

And me, I sin mostly. Sometimes I get it right, sometimes I pick out the person in the crowd, sometimes I have those great conversations – they lead not to mind blowing conversions, but to following Christ at least. I want more. I want to see what Jesus promised in John 14. The Holy Spirit lives in me – in all believers. “Greater things than these you will do” keeps rumbling through my brain.

Then I go back to my mentor’s words – prayer, walking in obedience, repentance. I do my stuff, God does His. But… I really need to be diligent to do my stuff, not just kinda do it. Are you hungry for more?


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.